Blog of a Flower Child

First off, I want to apologize for being absent for months.  I’ll tell you I haven’t had time (or motivation) and leave it at that since you know I’me not a huge fan of excuses.  I know that sounds lame.  It really is.

I’d like to introduce to you a thought that often bugs me when I think about my blog.

Who reads it?  Who actually takes something away from a post, or at the very least appreciates that they did not just waste five or ten minutes of their life?  I can’t even begin to guess how much time I waste on Pinterest and Vine and other social media networks, and to tell someone I was enlightened by those two hours  I wasted would be a lie.  Sure, now I know how to cut a glass bottle and paint like Monet and sew a whale stuffed you, maybe now I know how so-and-so REALLY feels about her ex-boyfriend, but what can I take away from these things?  Appreciation for the single life?  That’s about as deep as that gets, folks.  Passing bits of gossip or a nifty trick aren’t doing anything to really improve my outlook on life.

So maybe blogging, for me anyway, is more enlightening for me than any readers.  It’s a creative outlet, and a way for me to put my thoughts out into cyberspace, even if no one reads or cares about them.

Thats one reason I’m so desperate to find a “purpose” for my blog.  Maybe if my ideas were focused, or my posts could all fit nicely into one cateogory, I could find such a thing.

But maybe it’s even better as just a sort of ADD type thing- it’s a more accurate portrayal of who I am, and how my thoughts work.  I’m called the “flower child” of my family because I don’t always go with the current that my family follows.  Sure, I could be doing my homework, but why not do a craft or paint a picture instead?  It’s the whole right brain vs. left brain type thing.

Don’t get me wrong, if one day I find a good filter for my blog, I’ll apply it right away, but I don’t need one as urgently as I thought.

Since I’ve been gone, I have discovered some new music favorites.  Hope you enjoy!

Bllod Band by Bon Iver

Let Her Go by Passenger

With or Without You (cover) by 2Cellos

Pompeii by Bastille

Cough Syrup by Young the Giant

Merry Happy by Kate Nash

Leave a Reply

