For God’s Sake, Keep Going!

A famous quote by Winston Churchill goes like this:  “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

I do not know the context of that quote, so I can easily apply it to anything I want to apply it to.  Isn’t that the lovely thing about quotes?  You don’t really need context.  A simple phrase from a novel can be turned into something deep and philosophical.  For example, in Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland our protagonist, Alice, says this: “It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

As soon as I heard that, I fell in love with it because I just thought it was so true and something of an inescapable fate for all of us.  That was before I read the novel.  When I came to the part in the book where Alice is talking about her adventures with the Gryphon and the Mock Turtle, her quote above is really said in a rather offhand manner. “‘I could tell you my adventures–beginning from this morning’ Alice said a little timidly: “but it’s no use going back to yesterday because I was a different person then.'”  Of course the Gryphon and Mock Turtle completely ignore her highly intelligent comment and beg to hear about her curious adventures.

This quote seems like it would be way over the head of a seven or so year old girl.  Of course, children sometimes say the wisest things and aren’t aware of the fact at all.  And young Alice is a very clever, logical girl, almost unbelievably so.  She’s like an adult in a child’s body, portraying intelligent adult thoughts in a naive sort of way.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is a subtle coming of age, or bildungsroman novel.  Alice’s slow transition from naivety to knowledgeable is definitely gradual and can be slow at times, but is a great read (or listen–audiobooks are great if you’re trying to get other things done) and I would recommend reading it.

Anyway, that was my novel recommendation for the day.

Also i should apologize for not blogging in a while.

Sorry.

Been kinda busy.  You know, school and what-not.  Nothing important anyway.

Second thing I want to talk about.

INSPIRATION.

Yes, I have already posted about inspiration a while back, but inspiration is an ever changing variable and it doesn’t always stay.  Like dreams.  They leave after a while and you’re left with thoughts like:  “What was that dream about?”  and “Damn, I had a really great idea… but it’s gone now,” etc. etc.  <insert thought here.>  You know the feeling.

So there is a competition of sorts for writing called the Scholastic Writing Contest and you can submit poetry, flash fiction, memoirs, basically anything your little heart desires.  So if you’re interested, here’s a link to the website.  It’s pretty simple, but make sure to read all rules and regulations before submitting yadda yadda yadda.  One thing:  it is for high school middle school only I believe.

http://www.artandwriting.org/

So if  you’re an aspiring writer or whatever, check out the site!

Cool.  So what I’m trying to do is conjure up an idea for my piece(s) for the competition thingy.

My obstacles:

I have no idea what to write about

I have no idea what category I want to enter in

My creative side has been a little low lately.

The list goes on.

SO.

I am looking for inspiration.  That is really all.

I’m sorry for this lame post, especially because I haven’t blogged in a while.  I have just been feeling rather lame lately, so I guess my blog post matches.

Toodleloo….

Leave a Reply

