The Art (and Awesome-ness) of Proper Crepe-Making

Crepes alone are delicious.  Fantastic.  I love them with lemon juice and sugar.  My sister prefers chocolate and strawberries.  But recently, (well just today actually) we just got ceramic pans, and they’re the kind that everything just slides around in and you hardly have to put in any butter or oil or whatever.  Maybe you don’t have to put in any at all…  I’m just over-cautious.

So my friend and I always make crepes for breakfast when we have a sleepover.  One of our many mutual interests is a love (more like obsession) for cooking.  And baking.  So her mom gave me their ‘British Pancake” (crepe) recipe, which they acquired when they lived in England for a few years. It only has flour, and egg, and milk.

Some recipes I’ve come across have salt and sugar and butter in it too, which is all fair and good.  But I prefer to stick to basics, and use recipes that I know well and trust.

But that can be a problem, because then I shall never find the best recipe for crème brûlée, or the perfect way to fry fish and chips…  And that’s why teacher constantly nag us to think outside the box.  Not only does it “broaden your mind” (Harry Potter 4 reference), it leads us to new experiences and new ways of doing things.  It improves the way we learn.

And trust me, I wasn’t thinking of all of that stuff when I was searching for another crepe recipe.  I just couldn’t find the one written on the index card.

Which I guess is a good thing.

So anyway, the first (non-failure) crepe I made in my new special and fabulous pan was dill and lox and feta.  For those of you who don’t know what lox is, it’s smoked salmon, and it’s delicious.  i would recommend, besides putting it in a crepe, trying it on a bagel with plain cream cheese.  Anyway.  You basically fry up your crepe to the way you like it, crumble in some feta down the middle, put on strips of lox, and sprinkle (A LOT) of dried (or fresh if that’s what you have) dill on top.  I love dill, but you can omit that if you don’t share my love of this particular herb.  I would have included a picture, had I not been so busy fending off the rest of my family.  The thought hadn’t even crossed my mind.

Well, for those of you who like to bake, cook, or just eat, you’re in luck!!!  I’ve included some recipes for crepes that you (or, someone you can bribe to do so for you) can cook up these delicious pancakes.

The Original Recipe from my Friend’s Mother (aka “British Pancakes”):

  • about 7/8 of a cup of flour (remember, this is approximate, it was in grams.  IT’S OKAY TO ROUND.)
  • 1 egg
  • about a cup of milk

DIRECTIONS:  Mix flour with a pinch of salt.  Make a well in flour and crack in egg.  Whisk in milk.  Let stand for 20 minutes.

If you’re impatient to eat these, then skip the waiting.  I usually do and they turn out fine.

The Other Recipe:

Basic Crepe Batter (make at least an hour ahead)
Makes 4 large crepes (actually makes 6 but you will mess up 2) <<NEGATIVITY!!! 😦
– 1 Cup all-purpose flour
– 1 Teaspoon salt
– 1 Tablespoon sugar
– 2 eggs
– 1.5 cups milk
– 2 Tablespoons melted butter (plus some for the pan)

This batter is one of the easiest to make, mix your three dry ingredients. Mix your eggs and milk. Add your wet to your dry and whisk until smooth. Then whisk in your melted butter.

P.S.  I’m not taking credit for either recipe.  My friend’s mom came up with the first, and I got the other one while scanning Pinterest.  You can find the web page here.

FOR BOTH RECIPES:  Pour enough batter to coat the whole pan (do so by swirling) and let cook until golden brown then flip and cook for another minute.  If you don’t have a ceramic or Teflon pan, you should probably butter it to avoid frustration.  I also use a rubber spatula (or bowl scraper, whatever you call it) to get under and flip the crepe. You can use whatever you want.

PHOTOS!!!

When you flip your crepe the first time ’round, it should look something like this:

Image

The proper way to jam and chocolate a crepe:

ImageIf you have more than a tablespoon of both raspberry jam and chocolate syrup, you can put your stuffings on half, or even the whole crepe if you like.

Remember:  ALWAYS EAT FROM THE OPENING DOWN TO THE TIP.  It’s very important to put a lot in the middle so your last bite is always the best.  And success should look something like this…

Image

Now, go forth into the world and cook up some of these babies!  Happy crepe-making!!!

2 thoughts on “The Art (and Awesome-ness) of Proper Crepe-Making

Leave a Reply

